‘Half-Blood’ Was Half Way There

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset
‘Half-Blood’. by Jennifer L. Armentrout

The Hematoi descend from the unions of gods and mortals, and the children of two Hematoi pure bloods have godlike powers. Children of Hematoi and mortals–well, not so much. Half-bloods only have two options: become trained Sentinels who hunt and kill daimons or become servants in the homes of the pures.

Seventeen-year-old Alexandria would rather risk her life fighting than waste it scrubbing toilets, but she may end up slumming it anyway. There are several rules that students at the Covenant must follow. Alex has problems with them all, but especially rule #1:Relationships between pures and halfs are forbidden. Unfortunately, she’s crushing hard on the totally hot pure-blood Aiden. But falling for Aiden isn’t her biggest problem–staying alive long enough to graduate the Covenant and become a Sentinel is.

If she fails in her duty, she faces a future worse than death or slavery: being turned into a daimon, and being hunted by Aiden. And that would kind of suck.”

Rose-Worthy Features 

        One of the main reasons I picked this book to read was because I really enjoyed reading ‘The Lux’ series by Jennifer L. Armentrout. That series was one of the reasons why I got so engrossed in reading.
        I really adored reading about the characters in this book. Alex was feisty and sarcastic while Aiden is calm and mature. I think both of them together was an interesting match and was fun to read about because of they’re so polar opposites.
        The plot was interesting that’s for sure. There were lots of twists that I didn’t expect and threw me off guard. There were moments where I laughed and moments where I cried. The storyline was fun to read.
        The relationship between Alex and Aiden was AMAZING! I liked how Alex was wilder compared to Aiden. I think them being complete opposites was one of the reasons I liked their relationship so much. They have amazing chemistry but it’s sad because they can never be together. Their relationship is forbidden and I guess that makes reading this book so intriguing. I kept wondering if they’ll make their relationship work.

Final Thoughts

        Overall, I rate this book a 4.5 out of 5. I really enjoyed reading this book! It was fun and kept me interested the whole time. I liked the characters and how complete opposites Alex and Aiden were but they work together so perfectly. There was A LOT of twist in this book that I didn’t expect and they caught me off guard but in a good way. I definitely recommend reading this book and The Lux series by Jennifer L. Armentrout. I hope you’ve enjoyed this post, you’ve just been reviewed.

Leave a comment